Top Ten Tuesday: Books + Music

Top Ten Tuesday is a meme created by The Broke and the Bookish, you can find more about it here.

So for this post I’m going to make a list of ten songs which remind me of a book, a book series, or characters from a book. All of these songs are songs that I listen to regularly since they are on my everyday music playlist. They may not be the most fitting to the books, but either through constant listening or something I am reminded of these books when they come up.

Shall we get to it?

The List

1. Past Lives by Børns – A Court of Mist and Fury 

Through all of my lives

I never thought I’d wait so long for you

The timing is right, the stars are aligned

This song reminds me of Rhysand and Feyre, specifically Rhys’s love for her. The whole song reminds me of their relationship, but these lines are some of my favorites.

2. Lovely by Twenty One Pilots – All the Bright Places 

I’ll pray that one day you see

The only difference between life and dying

Is one is trying, that’s all we’re going to do

So try to love me and I’ll try to save you.

Honestly the main appeal of this song is its title, but the lyrics match the story nicely. The main characters, Finch and Violet, use this word in the story often. Every time I listen to this song I’m reminded of these character sand their story.

3. Solider by Fleurie – An Ember in the Ashes

You gotta wipe the dirt off of your hands

Careful son, you got dreamer’s plans

But it gets hard to stand 

This song reminds me of Elias who is sick of the Empire, but doesn’t know what to do about it. The other lyrics of this song remind me of the other students of Blackcliff Academy.

4. Promises by Ryn Weaver – Empire of Storms 

Never meant to break my own promises

One more night, I said it the last time

But this is the last time, I’ll say it a million more

Empire of Storms is my current read and I know not a lot of people have read so I will refrain from saying anything specific. A lot of promises are being made by the characters of this book. However, there’s an unlikely pairing who make promises to each other and make a deal to part ways. This song reminds me of that…

5. Breaking Down by Florence + The Machine – Bloodline series

All alone

On the edge of sleep

My old familiar friend

Comes and lies down next to me

For those of you who are confused by the title of this series, Bloodlines is the sister series to Vampire Academy. This song reminds me of Adrian Ivashkov who struggles with his power and is known to down spiral from time to time.

6. Warrior by Beth Crowley – A Torch Against the Night 

Put me to the test

I’ll prove that I’m strong

Won’t let myself believe

That what we feel is wrong

I believe this song was originally written for the movie adaptation of City of Bones, but it reminds me of Laia and Elias’s relationship. Specifically, it reminds me of how Laia has grown in between the first book and the second.

7. Bubblegum Bitch by Marina and the Diamonds – Throne of Glass 

Queentex, latex, I’m your wonder maid

Life gave me some lemons so I made some lemonade

Soda pop, soda pop, baby, here I come,

Straight to number one.

Celeana Sardothien is always being called a bitch because of her sass and her prowess. In this first book she is taken out of Endovier and offered a deal, but it it’ll only be valid if she wins a competition. I think this song fits well with the aforementioned.

8. Seven Devils by Florence + The Machine – Beautiful Creatures 

Seven devils all around me!

Seven devils in my house!

See they were there when I woke up this morning

I’ll be dead before the day is done

The main reason for this connection is because the trailer for the movie included this song, nothing more…

9. Great Summer by Vance Joy – The Unexpected Everything

 I hope you had a great summer, a great summer away

This book is such a summer read! The main character’s summer goes awry when a scandal breaks out. This song reminds me of the adventure she has while making the best of her summer.

10. Soap by Melanie Martinez – To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before 

Uh-oh, there it goes, I said too much, it overflowed

Why do I always spill?

This song is about someone who is always saying the wrong thing. I feel like Lara Jean has said some things she regrets saying and Melanie Martinez’s Cry Baby reminds me of the aesthetic of this book.

Well, that’s the list! I hope you enjoyed this post. Be sure to let me know what you think in the comment section…

Leave a Reply

