P.S. I Like You: Book Review (minor spoilers)

Title: P.S. I Like You

Author: Kasie West 

Series: Stand-alone

Genre: Contemporary, Romance

Format: Hardcover

Source: August Uppercase Box

Publisher: Point

Publication Date: July 26th, 2016

Page Count: 329

Signed, sealed, delivered…

While spacing out in chemistry class, Lily scribbles some of her favorite song lyrics onto her desk. The next day, she finds that someone has continued the lyrics on the desk and added a message to her. Intrigue!

Soon, Lily and her anonymous pen pal are exchanging full-on letters—sharing secrets, recommending bands, and opening up to each other. Lily realizes she’s kind of falling for this letter writer. Only, who is he? As Lily attempts to unravel the mystery and juggle school, friends, crushes, and her crazy family, she discovers that matters of the heart can’t always be spelled out…


 

Hello again! This is a review for P.S. I Like You by Kasie West. I received this book as part of my August Uppercase box. This, however, is not my first Kasie West book. I believe I read The Distance Between Us and liked it.

The cover of the book isn’t one of my favorites, but it is fitting to the book. The reason for my dislike is the real life people in it. Whenever a book features people I get a bit discouraged, it somehow interferes with my reading experience. Regardless of that, the cover is cute and like I said fitting to the main focus of the book.

Anyway, this books follows Lily as she starts exchanging letters with the person who sits on the same desk of her Chemistry class. The book also explores themes like family and self-worth.

Let’s get to it!

P.S. I Like You was such a quick, cute read. The story progressed at an even pace and developed nicely. But first, let’s talk about the characters!

We have Lily as our main character. She is quirky and awkward. Loves fashion and wants to be a lyricist. For the most part, I liked Lily, but there were times where she got very whiny at times. I got why she would do it, but it was so juvenile that it threw me off. I will cut her some slack for being 16. Something that I understood well about her character was her insecurities when it came to her passion. It’s hard to share your work and put it out there for the world to see.

The love interest/pen pal was okay. A bit cliche for my taste, but still enjoyable. I figured out who he was from the first mention of his name. I do have to say that there is more to the story than the reveal of the pen pal. Anyhow, I felt really bad for the love interest’s family situation. I think it gave his character a bit more of depth, which he really needed. Also, liked how when it came to their relationship both characters supported each other when it came to doing difficult things.

As far as story and stylistic choices go, I think they were well executed. The story developed at a nice pace. The exchange of letters was very intriguing since texting is how exchanges like this go. The letters were cute and at times a bit sad…

An aspect I particularly I enjoyed was the portrayal of family. They were multifaceted, big, and fun. Yeah, the family members were a bit stereotypical, but in the end, they showed that they could be more than that.

My favorite parts of the story were: Thanksgiving and the reveal. Both of them were adorable and funny.

Overall, I enjoyed this book. It was a nice transition book, something fresh in between all the fantasy that I tend to read. This book gave me To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before vibes, so if you enjoyed that I recommend you give this a read.

I hope you enjoyed this. Until next time!

 

Keyword: Letter

Rating:  ◯ ◯ ◯

Places to buy:  Amazon,  B&N, Book Depository 

Leave a Reply

