Truthwitch: Book Review (Spoiler Free)

Title: Truthwitch

Author: Susan Dennard

Series: The Witchlands

Genre: Fantasy

Source: Hardcover

Publisher: Tor Teen

Publishing Date: January 5th,2016

Page Count: 416

In a continent on the edge of war, two witches hold its fate in their hands.

Young witches Safiya and Iseult have a habit of finding trouble. After clashing with a powerful Guildmaster and his ruthless Bloodwitch bodyguard, the friends are forced to flee their home.

Safi must avoid capture at all costs as she’s a rare Truthwitch, able to discern truth from lies. Many would kill for her magic, so Safi must keep it hidden – lest she be used in the struggle between empires. And Iseult’s true powers are hidden even from herself.

In a chance encounter at Court, Safi meets Prince Merik and makes him a reluctant ally. However, his help may not slow down the Bloodwitch now hot on the girls’ heels. All Safi and Iseult want is their freedom, but danger lies ahead. With war coming, treaties breaking and a magical contagion sweeping the land, the friends will have to fight emperors and mercenaries alike. For some will stop at nothing to get their hands on a Truthwitch.


Hey there! You know how sometimes you read a bad review for a book you are about to pick up and it kind of puts you off? Well, I made that mistake before I started reading Truthwitch and I immediately regretted doing so. Usually, I like to go in with just the synopsis and the average star rating. But by looking at reviews I only focus on certain aspects of a story instead of all of it.

I got this book as a birthday present it in May. I was excited about it and I couldn’t believe why I waited so long to pick it up.

This is my first Susan Dennard book. She seems to have another trilogy and I believe it’s about zombies. Anyway, Susan Dennard is really good friends with Sarah J Maas, for of those of you not familiar with her she is the author of Throne of Glass. This book is inspired by that friendship and it’s also dedicated to her, which I think is amazing!

The cover of this book features a person and while I dislike that I think there were different elements that made the cover interesting. The girl is holding a sword, her outfit looks amazing, there’s some water wielding going on (I didn’t get this because Safiya’s power has nothing to do with water), and there’s a boat which is pretty representative of the story. The cover is certainly eye-catching and cool. It still ties in with the story but it’s not quite there for me. Overall, it’s a good cover even with the person.

Let’s get to it!

Truthwitch is told through four third-person perspectives. I think it was a good stylistic choice considering how much action is involved and how sometimes characters are all over the map. We follow best friends Safiya and Iseult, Prince Merik, and a Bloodwitch monk.

I really loved Safiya and Iseult, and their friendship. Safiya is a Truthwitch while Iseult is a Threadwitch, together they are Threadsisters (the world’s way of saying besties) They supported each other in such a way that was admirable. So many books nowadays are so focused on the romance, I’m glad that while this one had some the girls’ friendship was a strong component of the story. I, also, enjoyed that each of them was their own person and had things to overcome. Safiya really had some growing up to do and I’m glad she caught up and did just that. Some of her actions had me wanting to yank her, but it’s all part of a process. As for Iseult, I found that we were alike not in magical ways but in her personality and such. I was really annoyed by people discriminating against her, ugh. Something I was really curious about was her heritage and what else she can do with her power. She was my favorite out of the two friends, also loved her attempts at a sense of humor and how Safi was the only one who got it.

I liked Prince Merik. I admired his ambition and I felt sorry that he had to deal with so many things at once. However, there were times where I really disliked him. One time in particular. His romance with Safiya was nice, it wasn’t uncalled for and I was glad. I’m a sucker for pairings who start disliking each other. That ballroom scene was one of my favorites. His duty to his people was admirable and one of the things I really enjoyed about him. Overall, he was a good character. He has that dreaminess, the snark, and he’s resilient. The second book, Windwitch, features him, which I think it’s exciting and I look forward to it.

As for Aeduan the Bloodwitch, I found him to be intriguing. You know how sometimes you see a character and he’s vicious but you like “puppy,” that’s how I felt about him. He reminded me a bit of Manon, from the Throne of Glass series. His ruthlessness was enjoyable, he was cryptic at times but not hard to decipher. There was only one thing that surprised about his storyline and for that matter the only thing that surprised me about the whole story. I hope he gets his act together in the next one.

As far as the story goes this book is action packed, very fast paced. The story focuses on delayed war and how it has affected the different territories of The Witchlands. Some of them have fared well, while others haven’t. Every empire wants to get their hands on a Truthwitch so they can have some leverage in the upcoming war. Our story starts on the eve of said war and it unfolds in the aftermath of a summit. The characters have to sail the seas either to capture the powerful witch or to run from those who want them. It has its twists and turns, but I have to say that the majority of them didn’t phase me. I saw most of them coming. That is not to say that I didn’t enjoy this book because I did.

The world building is very rich and interesting. There’s witches, war plots, and secrets. I promise that there won’t be a dull moment with this one. In addition to those things this tale also explores the theme of family and duty. I look forward to visiting other parts of this world and see how the story unfolds. There’re many things that were left unexplained and I’m anxious to learn about them. I’m glad Windwitch will be released in January.

I recommend this book to fans of Sarah J Maas and those who are looking for a fun fantasy read that doesn’t focus solely on romance.

 

Keyword: Cahr Awen and Threadsister

Rating:  ◯ ◯ ◯ ◯

Places to buy:  Amazon, B&N, Book Depository

I hope you enjoyed this review! Feel free to share your thoughts in the comment section.

 

2 thoughts on “Truthwitch: Book Review (Spoiler Free)

Leave a Reply

