My Lady Jane: Book Review

Title: My Lady Jane

Author(s): Cynthia Hand, Brodi Ashton, Jodi Meadows

Series: Stand-alone

Genre: Historical Fiction, Fantasy, Romance

Source: Hardcover

Publisher: Harperteen

Publication Date: June 7th, 2016

Page Count: 491

Introduction

Last night I was looking at book recommendations based on zodiac signs (I’m a Gemini btw) and this book was the one recommended for my sign. That recommendation couldn’t have been more fitting because I loved this book!

I acquired this book through my Uppercase box subscription for the month of June. I wasn’t eagerly awaiting this book. I read the synopsis and while it seemed interesting I didn’t put it in my TBR on Goodreads.

My Lady Jane was written by three different authors, each of them writes one of the three points of views in the book. I have only read Incarnate by Jodi Meadows and I didn’t love it so I was a bit skeptical about this. Furthermore, it follows Edward (the king), Lady Jane Grey (his cousin), and Gifford (her betrothed) as they get tangled up in a web of conspiracies and romance. The story is set in Renaissance England.

As for the book genre, I don’t think I had read a history retelling before. It was something new and I welcomed, sometimes reading the same genres can get monotonous.

Another thing that attracted me to this book was the cover. As I have mentioned before I don’t enjoy real people’s faces on the cover. This dust jacket features a person, but it is blocked by giant letters. Also, the title has little arrows with funny comments, which are so cute! They tell you something about the tone of the book. The actual book is purple, the title in the spine is all in gold, and the pages are deckled. I find the book aesthetically pleasing.

Shall we dive in?

Characters

I really enjoyed the characters from this book! My favorites were Jane and Gifford, I loved their romance and their interactions.

Even though the book followed three characters I think that, ultimately, Jane was the main character. She is knowledgeable, opinionated, and stupidly brave at times. Also, she’s the ultimate bookworm. Her love for books was something I can wholeheartedly relate to, and some of my favorite parts involved her being protective of books (I may have done some of those things myself). I loved her!

Another character we follow is Edward. At first, I didn’t are much for him, but once the pace of the story picked up I started to like him better. I particularly liked his development throughout the book, I believe it was my favorite. He was oblivious to so many things at the beginning, but throughout the book, he learned the truth about his country and those around him. I enjoyed reading about it.

The third character we follow is Gifford aka ‘G’ the horse. Writing those things makes me giggle. He was such a sweetheart. I liked how he changed accordingly with Jane. She brought him out of his shell. His secret was…ridiculous, in a good way. The only thing that I didn’t like was the whole cage situation. Besides that I really liked him.

I adored Jane and G’s relationship! I liked how it wasn’t a love that came out of nowhere. There was the beginning attraction, then they spent time together got to know each other, and then came love. It was quick but not uncalled for. They listened to each other and took each other’s advice. They cared deeply for each other, they also understood one another.

Besides, from these characters, there were some interesting characters. The villains were okay, nothing too surprising came from them. I really didn’t like Jane’s mom and G’s dad.

Storyline

The book didn’t start with a bang, it started out pretty slow. The humor was there from the start and it made a whole lot better. After each character was introduced the story picked up nicely. The pace was nice, nothing felt too rushed. Except for that wedding, am I right? After that there wasn’t a dull moment, the story managed to capture my attention pretty well, I didn’t find myself skimming or anything.

The concept of the edians was really cool and I’m glad it was well explored. The story also focuses on the discrimination that they face. That was an aspect of the story that rang true to our modern society. I wish we could get more stories featuring edians, like I said it was an interesting concept and it really made the story better.

The book is divided into two parts which are hilariously titled. There are a prologue and a midlogue in which the narrators make a recap of the story. The whole time the narrators are telling you that this isn’t real or they tell you more about a character or some event. I really enjoyed the narrator’s voice, it was insightful and funny.

The ending was so sweet! Everything came together nicely and everyone was happy, the way it should be…

Conclusion

I didn’t expect to like this book so much, so I was pleasantly surprised. This book features interesting characters, witty storytellings, and real world issues. If you want a refreshing book I would definitely recommend you pick this up!

Oh, I read somewhere that the authors are going to write more retellings are they are going to be centered around different Janes.

Keyword: Edian

Rating: ◯ ◯ ◯ ◯

Places to buy: Amazon , Barnes & Noble, and Book depository 

Let me know what you think in the comments below!

Leave a Reply

